Do you want your A/P clerk having access to your payroll records? Or your billing clerk having access to your profit and loss statements? Maybe so, but maybe not.

If not, then you can configure your QuickBooks company so that each user has access only to the information they need.

Set this up through the top menu: Company / Set Up Users and Passwords / Set Up Users. Click Add User or Edit User, depending on whether they are already existing users. Then you’ll see this screen:

Click on “Selected areas of QuickBooks” to begin the process of specifying authorized functions for that user.

The first screen that appears gives you control over the user’s access to Sales and Accounts Receivable functions:

You see that control can be broken down between data entry, transaction printing, and reporting. Select the functions that your user needs access to. You can also click (or not) on the checkbox giving the user access to customer credit card numbers.

This level of control in QuickBooks is great — it introduces accounting controls to your use of the software, and potentially reduces the risk of fraud and error.

You can set up controls for these areas in QuickBooks:

* Sales and A/R
* Purchases and A/P
* Checking and Credit Cards
* Inventory
* Time Tracking
* Payroll and Employees
* Sensitive Accounting Activities (like journal entries and online banking)
* Sensitive Financial Reporting

Finally, you can control the ability to change or delete transactions:


This is an important accounting control. If you open this capability to a user, they will be able to delete or change previously entered transactions. Limiting this capability to only staff that truly need it could help lower the possibility of bookkeeping crime in your office, because it makes it harder for users to cover their tracks if they are making entries they don’t want others to see.

Also, you can prevent users from making changes to the books after the close date. Your accountant will really like it if you restrict that.

There are news stories coming out all the time about embezzlement and fraud taking place in offices where QuickBooks or other accounting software is used. Want to lower the chance of it happening to you? Just limit your employees’ access in QuickBooks to the functions they need to do their jobs.

Do you have any tips or advice on using access restrictions in QuickBooks?

273 thoughts on “How to Restrict User Access in QuickBooks

  1. We have a bookkeeper and would like the bookkeeper to download banking transactions but not know the user name and password for the bank. Is it possible to restrict viewing access but still allow transactions to be downloaded?

    Thank you

    Reply
  2. I am trying to set up some restrictions on templates (Invoice, Sales Order, Purchase Order). We have specific templates set up and employees are continually changing them to suit their personal preferences (we are working with a third party software which makes additional calculations in these templates that QBE won’t do, so the templates can’t change, but employees can’t seem to understand that). Is there a way to “lock down” these templates so they can be used, but not edited?

    Reply
  3. I would like to ask a two part question;

    1) when you are invoicing an item in quickbooks and you don’t have sufficient quantity
    a message pops up however this message can be cancelled and the invoice printed
    is there anyway that this message can’t be cancelled and quickbooks only bill when it
    have inventory.

    2) In quickbooks if i restrict a customer to only do invoices, estimates and purchase
    orders. Will they be able to create customer, items etc.

    Reply
    • Hi Lorenzo,

      1. Only with Enterprise 15 can you specify to disallow negative inventory. In other editions and version, you can’t prevent it.
      2. In Pro, Premier, and Accountant, you can only turn on or off Sales/Receivables access as a whole. In Enterprise, you can fine tune the access much more closely.

      Thanks for your questions.

      Reply
  4. Hi,
    I want to restrict user from “Delete” but i am unable to do so. When i apply the setting in QuickBooks Enterprise 2015 edition, by un-checking the option of “Delete”, the same function is not working properly and the user delete the transaction even i didn’t allow him/her. Please i need your help.

    Reply
    • Hello Suleman,

      If you set up a role for your user, and select “Partial” access for the kinds of transactions you are concerned about, and uncheck “Delete”, it should disallow deleting. I just confirmed it on some sample data for Invoices in Enterprise 15.

      Thanks for the question.

      Reply
  5. Hello,

    Can I lock access to all or part of the chart of accounts for users? I have locked some users from Employees & Payroll and sensitive reporting, but can they still access salary info through the chart of accounts?

    Reply

Leave a reply

required

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>